5 Questions with…Suzzy Roche

Photo Credit Irene Young

Novelist Suzzy Roche is probably best known for her music.  With her sisters, Suzzy founded the band The Roches, and they have been touring and performing for over 30 years. Earlier this year, Suzzy published her first novel WAYWARD SAINTS about family, fame, and, of course, music. We sat down with her to find out a little more about what inspires her to write and what she loves to read.

GBSP: What role did literature play in your childhood?
SR: My parent’s didn’t have a lot of extra money for lessons, or vacations or even outings to the movies, so reading books was a great way of discovering other worlds. When I’d finish reading a book I would often write a story that I hoped would capture the mood of the book, because finishing a book can be sad, like losing a friend.

GBSP: Did any parent, teacher, program foster a love of books and literature?
SR: My mother invented something called Reading Hour. She would summon us to the living room, put classical music on the record player, and my siblings and I would be required to sit and read for an hour. We used to complain bitterly about it. But now I remember those hours fondly. To this day I give myself a designated time to read.

GBSP: What was your favorite book as a teenager?
SR: I loved To Kill A Mockingbird.

GBSP: Did you always want to be a writer?
SR: I always liked to write stories, but honestly, I didn’t think I was smart enough to be a writer.

GBSP: If you could give one piece of advice to young writers, what would it be?
SR: Respect yourself and your work, and cultivate curiosity and respect for other people’s work.

Below is the video for the song Suzzy and her daughter Lucy Wainwright Roche performed for WAYWARD SAINTS:

Leave a Reply

