Nerd of the Month: December 2015

Meet Anna; writer, poet, interpretive tambourine dancer, veteran Stanford camper, Taylor Swift’s biggest fan, and our final Nerd of the Month of 2015!

Name: Anna Rose KoppelmanAnnaMic

Current life status: I live in New York City and I go to the Calhoun School. I am currently using these questions to procrastinate from homework while marathoning Scandal (I’m a real multitasker). I also write blog posts sometimes.

What kind of music do you listen to when you study?: Taylor Swift—always Taylor Swift.

Relationship to Great Books: I have been a camper for the last two years at Stanford. I plan on never leaving Great Books like even after I become a PA.

Nerdy fun fact: If you give me a topic I can do really bad free style slam poetry.

Nerdiest attribute: Sometimes after a joke I push up my chunky black glasses to make a point.

AnnaLily

Anna with her friend Lilli at Great Books Stanford.

Favorite book: The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I keep the quote: “There’s nothing like deep breaths after laughing that hard. Nothing in the world like a sore stomach for the right reasons,” above my bed surrounded by a bunch of pictures of Great Books people. No matter the mood I’m in I always seem to find a quote from the book that matches my feelings. There’s another quote in the book: “It’s strange because sometimes, I read a book, and I think I am the people in the book.” I am always able to find myself in the pages of Perks. I have read it over 10 times every time I read it I learn something new about myself.

Currently reading: I am currently on page 34 of Aziz Ansari’s Modern Romance.

Favorite word: Plethora. There is a plethora of words I could go with here (see what I did there) but I chose plethora because once I used the word on a date and the boy described me to his friends as “the kinda girl that uses the word plethora in a sentence.” I don’t know what kind of girl that is but I am very happy to be one.

Least favorite word: Caress— No exciting story here it just creeps me out to the highest extent.

First fictional crush: I used to have a pretty big things for George in Arthur, but then I was won over by Binky whose bad boy qualities got me very intrigued. Later I would settle for Buster’s kind personality. If I was part of the Arthur series there would definitely be a problem with me trying to date everyone in the friend group. (Side note: Am I the only Stanford person who thinks Noah Rosenblum is a little bit like Mr. Ratburn?)

AnnaSarahKay

Anna with her poetry idol, Sarah Kay, during a Guest Speaker talk at Stanford.

Which author would you want to write your story?: This is nearly and impossible question. Either Mindy Kaling or Stephen Chbosky…if Sarah Kay would like to write a book of poems on my life that would be ideal.

Hardcover or paperback?: It depends. I feel like people assume you are reading something with way more importance when it’s hard cover. However there is something to be said for the humble brag of reading Proust’s Search of Lost Time in paperback.

Leave a Reply

